New and expanded award categories to honour excellence in
Podcasts, Video, Social and Advertising

London, 3 March 2020 — The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS)—the presenting body of the international Webby Awards and its sister programme The Lovie Awards—announced today the official opening of The 10th Annual Lovie Awards Call for Entries. Creators from all across Europe can now submit their work across Websites, Advertising, Video, Apps, Mobile & Voice, Podcasts and Social at

The Lovie Awards is the only pan-European awards organisation to honour the full breadth of the European Internet. Finalists will be announced in September 2020 and Winners in October 2020, followed by a celebration in November 2020 in London.

Lovie Awards entrants compete not only to win a Lovie Award and The People’s Lovie Award (fan favourite), but to deliver their 7 Words of Lovie Acceptance Speech to follow in the footsteps of last year’s winners, including Lifetime Achievement honouree Eben Upton (creator, RaspberryPi), Lovie Best Actor Ashley Walters (actor and producer, Netflix’s Top Boy), Special Achievement Award honouree Evanna Lynch (actress and founder, KinderBeauty), and Lovie Artist of the Year George the Poet (creator, “Have You Heard George’s Podcast?”) — among others.

The 10th Annual Call for Entries introduces a host of new categories aimed at recognising work across the entire digital spectrum. They include:

  • A brand new suite for Podcasts featuring expanded categories such as Documentary, Business, Interview/Talk Show, Arts & Entertainment and more
  • New categories in Advertising, like Best Use of Media Campaign
  • Dedicated categories for Diversity & Inclusion across media types

The full list is available at

All work is judged by 500+ Academy members who represent Europe’s best and brightest in digital, including musician Imogen Heap, actor and writer Stephen Fry, “Father of Wi-Fi” Vic Hayes, Fearne Cotton (TV & radio presenter), Jamie Morton (creator of “My Dad Wrote a Porno” podcast), Yann LeCun (Chief AI Scientist, Facebook), Nina Bibby (CMO, O2), Dr. Sue Black OBE (Professor of Computer Science + Technology Evangelist), Deborah Frances-White (Host, “The Guilty Feminist” podcast), Eben Upton (Creator, RaspberryPi),  Hans Jørgen Wiberg (Founder, Be My Eyes), Rory Cellan-Jones (BBC Technology Correspondent), Anna Rafferty (VP, The LEGO Group), Iain Tait (Executive Creative Director, Wieden + Kennedy London), and Miriam Plon Sauer (Strategy Director, AKQA), among others. 

The Early Entry Deadline is 24 April 2020 at

Partners and Sponsors of The Lovie Awards include Google, WP Engine, Social Media Week, The Dots, CreativePool, Dutch Digital Design, and NinjaMarketing.

About The Lovie Awards

The mission of the Lovie Awards is to recognise the unique and resonant nature of the European Internet community—from Europe’s top web and creative networks and content publishers, to cultural and political organisations and individual creators. Now in its tenth year, The Lovie Awards continues to celebrate the most resonant and pertinent stories in Europe. With nearly 1,500 entries from over 30 countries across Europe, the Awards reflect the tremendous growth of the Internet as a tool for business and everyday lives. Work in English, French, German, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish and Italian is judged by native speakers in six main category types: Websites, Advertising, Video, Apps, Mobile & Voice, Podcasts and Social.